Eye Spy on Jet: “LOVE THAT & More”

By: LaShella JET Miller

It was a warm and breezy Saturday afternoon. I was driving through the eclectic streets of Canton in Baltimore’s historic Harbor East community.  As I glanced at the scenic route sights, I stumbled upon the most adorable decorative window on Hudson Street. What caught my eye the most was the sign that read PRADA, GUCCI, CHANEL, VERSACE, & MORE ALL SOLD INSIDE!  Needless to say, those words alone brought my car to a screeching halt.  When I walked inside the quaint and cozy consignment boutique, I was in total awe at the gorgeous array of designer clothing mounted on the racks.  From vintage Moschino to DVF, DKNY, Chanel, Michael Kors, and the list goes on as it pertains to the power house fashion names we all know and love.

As I perused the racks, I was amazed at some of the timeless fashions but most of all the affordable prices for such one-of-a-kind garments.  This point brings me to the plot of my message, which is educating today’s consumer about the luxury of consignment shops.  Before I elaborate, perhaps I need to render a clear distinction as it pertains to thrift stores and consignment shops.  During my years of retail/bargain hunting, I have found thrift stores to be ideal if you’re looking for extremely cheap prices; however, there is not much of a selective approach with the condition of the clothing/accessories these types of stores display.  On the contrary, consignment shops offer you a better and much organized selection of clothing with emphasis placed on high-end fashion designers.

Today, many consumers are singing the Recession Blues.  Along with having to pay monthly bills and priority expenses, some people are struggling with nerve wrecking decisions like, “Should I pay my mortgage or buy food to eat…”  In essence, when a person is living the reality of Maslow’s Law, the thought of “shopping until your drop” literally becomes extinct.

Nevertheless, there is still hope for those who would very much like to splurge on a quality designer garment, yet pay a fairly reasonable amount.  What could have cost you $300 for a classic Lanvin garment may only cost you far less than half when purchasing from a consignment broker.  This method of shopping works wonders on the wallet, especially for someone like me who really prefers quality fashion but may not be able to afford major department store prices.  I tell people all the time, never second guess the benefit of consignment shopping especially when your finances are governed by how well you tightly budget your income.  In addition to consignment shopping every consumer should also explore discount retail franchises such as TJ Max, Ross, Marshalls, and Feline’s Basement.  Even though these stores can be somewhat expensive, they do offer good bargains.

Remember…fashion is a form of creative expression and quality fashion does cost a pretty penny. However, with today’s economy being extremely unstable, it only makes sense to become a prudent shopper.  Take some time to check out some of my consignment hideouts including my favorite utopia LOVE THAT Designer Consignment Boutique located at 2809 Hudson Street in Baltimore.  When I’m not shopping in my hometown, you can find me in my second home (New York) enjoying some retail therapy at a few of my top consignment shops:

La BOUTIQUE RESALE (3 Locations)

1045 Madison Ave – 2nd Floor, near 80th Street
New York, NY 10075
212-517-8099

803 Lexington Ave. – 2nd floor
62nd St. (Upper East Side)
New York, NY 10065
212-588-8898

227 E. 81st Street (between 2nd & 3rd Avenue)
New York, NY 10028
212-988-8188

BIS DESIGNER RESALE

1134 Madison Avenue

New York, NY, 10028
United States

 212-396-2760

A SECOND CHANCE DESIGNER RESALE

Upper East Side

1109 Lexington Avenue 2nd Floor
New York, NY 10075

212-744-6041

Soho

155 Prince Street
New York, NY 10012

212-673-6155

Photos Courtesy of Love That Designer Consignment Boutique; 2809 Hudson Street; Baltimore, MD 21224; 410-563-0031

One thought on “Eye Spy on Jet: “LOVE THAT & More”

Leave a Reply

